fragments

I once built a home 
with only pieces of you – 
your voice and 
your smile and 
your scent – 
a sturdy latticework 
a fabricated reality 
kept me safe and warm 

but one day it just 
shattered 
the glass shards cut deep until 
I bled out 
crimson stained the remnants 
while memories tears and pain all flowed 
away 

I now build my home 
slowly 
with a soft blend of 
happiness 
and my friends’ laughter 
embedded with fragments 
of our memories 
and to this day 
I still look out for pieces 
sparkling jewels in debris 

Published by

❄︎ chloe ❄︎

write before you forget

One thought on “fragments”

Leave a Reply

